Tonight, Tonight, When All The World’s Asleep

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Art, Issues, Music, Stories, Youth
Tags: , ,

I have been rather absent since the beginning of the year. I apologize to my faithful reader for this unkindness. Today I open my laptop to discuss with you  a song. This song is sad, dark, upsetting, and just a little stupid. It comes from the early American folk tradition, perhaps even older than that. It’s a song about human nature, about greed, about pride, and about stupidity. The name of the song in question is “Fair Flowers Of The Valley”.

In this fine specimen of early American songwriting, we have four characters. Three sisters traipsing happy and carefree through the forest, thinking of nothing worth thinking at all. The fourth character is a robber, and apparently one with dreams of homesteading. Go fig.

The robber finds the three girls. He doesn’t ask for money, or anyone’s virtue, he just wants the oldest to be his wife. Honestly, that’s pretty reasonable for a robber in the woods. But no, the eldest sister will have none of it. So what does the robber do? He kills her. In my book that’s getting a little less reasonable. Well, now the next two know he means business…he will get a wife or else.

The second sister might as well not exist, except that she refers to him as “killer” rather than “robber”, as her sister did. Strangely enough, refusing once again yields poor results, and we have another body on our hands. The third sister, however, will not be daunted. “I have a brother in these woods” she says, “for many years an outlaw bold”, and he will protect me from you. Not a terrible idea, but you have to consider everything. First, robber with a knife in front of you. Second, many years without contact from this brother on whom you rely for protection. Third, would she know her brother?

Apparently not.

The robber says “darn it, i’m your brother” (paraphrase) and kills himself. It never says what kind of trauma that caused for the youngest sister.  I mean really, she needs counseling at least, and chances are there’s just been a psychopath created.

So what can we take away from this? First, don’t let your three daughters wander in the woods if your son has turned outlaw.  Second, teach them self defense. Duh. He killed them all with a knife….it could have been prevented. Third………………….

 

 

Here are the lyrics:

There were three sisters in the wood, o fair flowers of the valley
And there they met a robber bold, and the birds they sang so sweetly
He showed the eldest his weapon knife o fair flowers of the valley
Will you go with me or lose your life, and the birds they sang so sweetly

O I’d rather that I lose my life, o fair flowers of the valley
Before I’d be a robbers wife, and the birds they sang so sweetly
Then with his knife so keen and sharp, o fair flowers of the valley
He pierced that maiden through the heart, and the birds they sang so sweetly

He showed the second his weapon knife, o fair flowers of the valley
Will you go with me or lose your life, and the birds they sang so sweetly
O I’d rather that I lose my life, o fair flowers of the valley
Before I’d be a killer’s wife, and the birds they sang so sweetly

Then with his knife so keen and sharp, o fair flowers of the valley
He pierced that maiden through the heart,
and the birds they sang so sweetly

He showed the youngest his weapon knife, o fair flowers of the valley
Will you be mine or lose your life, and the birds they sang so sweetly
O I will never be your wife, o fair flowers of the valley
Nor do I fear to lose my life, and the birds they sang so sweetly

For I have a brother in these woods, o fair flowers of the valley
For many years an outlaw bold, and the birds they sang so sweetly
Before he’d let me be your wife, o fair flowers of the valley
He’d quickly take away your life, and the birds they sang so sweetly

Oh sister dear what have I done, o fair flowers of the valley
For now I know I’m your brother John, and the birds they sang so sweetly
He put his knife against his heart, o fair flowers of the valley
And from his sister he did part, and the birds they sang so sweetly

Leave a comment