And He Makes Corrections

Posted: March 17, 2012 in Art, Fads, Music, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been thinking about non-punk songs being covered by punk artists. The following is not in any particular order, it’s just a sampling of what I think is good. All of these can be found on Youtube

My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row

From the soundtrack of the movie Watchmen, a really excellent punk re-imagining of the classic Bob Dylan track. The only downside is the fact that the truly epic song was shortened to three verses. Very very sad. Still, the gist may be gotten, so the cover does its job well. It is indeed a beautiful and angry thing.

Bowling For Soup – Summer of 69′

This particular item will garner disagreement, no doubt, because the vast majority of feelings on this cover are mixed. Personally, I prefer this to the original….so much more fire, more sadness, more regret……and more guitar. How can you go wrong?

Social Distortion – Alone and Forsaken

I’m a little biased toward this one for a few reasons. One, it was my introduction to Social D, which makes it wonderful. Secondly, the first time I heard the original song, one late night with my grandparents, the thought in my head was “this would make a great punk song”. One year later, someone did what I wanted with the song.

Quietdrive – Time After Time

I used to hate this song. I associated it with silly movie scenes and bad 80s production. Until this version. It is wonderfully and blissfully NOTHING like the original, with an excellently infectious chorus and so much guitar you could drown a car in it. In the original, you felt like she’d be waiting time after time…..if she didn’t fall asleep first. These guys are stoked to be waiting. It just feels better.

 

We shall have many more such posts, but that’s it for now.

 

Leave a comment